h1

Day 4: Hey stupid check those brakes before moving around the yard.

March 20, 2010
I am not gonna re-write this so I just copied it from a forum I posted it to.
Well I did stupid today…. while moving trailers around I had a red tag in the lot that needed to be moved,  I hooked checked it out and started moving.  got it pulled from the loaded line over to the empty side, and I didnt see it but the farthest rear axle on the passenger side the brakes were froze,  I dragged that pair of tires all the way around the lot and when I stopped one of them popped.  But both tires are hosed, the tires had bald spots on them already, but still it was preventable and I didnt catch it.  As it sits now the mechanics know about it (they had to remove all tention from the slack adjusters and them beat on them for a good 10 minutes) and I called it in to Mark after I got the # from them.
Its a strong lesson learned today, anytime your picking up a trailer that seems like its been there a while, try to pull forward and then go look again to see if they are froze or not.  I looked at the trailer before I pulled away but I never looked at it after moving it a few feet.  I didnt see the drag marks in my mirror because it was on my passenger rear and i was turning left the whole time around the yard until I stopped.
I feel like an idiot now and really I am just worried about whats going to happen monday, I hope they dont boot me from the program because of this.  I know Mark also reads the forum from time to time, but I still had to let this out.  Its eating at me just thinking about how something so stupid could happen.  Lesson learned.
Cross those fingers guys, I have another day to dwell on what happened.   On the good side I got to hook and unhook up to almost 40 trailers today, so technique is definitely learned.  I know the procedure that they want us to use easily now.

Well I did stupid today…. while moving trailers around I had a red tag in the lot that needed to be moved,  I hooked checked it out and started moving.  got it pulled from the loaded line over to the empty side, and I didnt see it but the farthest rear axle on the passenger side the brakes were froze,  I dragged that pair of tires all the way around the lot and when I stopped one of them popped.  But both tires are hosed, the tires had bald spots on them already, but still it was preventable and I didnt catch it.  As it sits now the mechanics know about it (they had to remove all tention from the slack adjusters and them beat on them for a good 10 minutes) and I called it in to Mark after I got the # from them.
Its a strong lesson learned today, anytime your picking up a trailer that seems like its been there a while, try to pull forward and then go look again to see if they are froze or not.  I looked at the trailer before I pulled away but I never looked at it after moving it a few feet.  I didnt see the drag marks in my mirror because it was on my passenger rear and i was turning left the whole time around the yard until I stopped.
I feel like an idiot now and really I am just worried about whats going to happen monday, I hope they dont boot me from the program because of this.  I know Mark also reads the forum from time to time, but I still had to let this out.  Its eating at me just thinking about how something so stupid could happen.  Lesson learned.
Cross those fingers guys, I have another day to dwell on what happened.   On the good side I got to hook and unhook up to almost 40 trailers today, so technique is definitely learned.  I know the procedure that they want us to use easily now.

Leave a Reply

